Human Repetitive Nature

The other day, I was walking down the street to run an errand near my job. I ended up at a red stop light, pressed the pedestrian button, and patiently waited. This guy walks up next to me and stands to my right. He then walks around me to my left and presses the same button.

I sarcastically think to myself “now why didn’t I think of that?”.

He walks back to my right and about five seconds later, returns to the button….

….tap tap tap tap tap tap tap tap tap tap tap tap tap tap tap REALLY SIR? REALLY?

Why do people do that?

Dear impatient sir, apparently you need an introduction to computers. You’re thinking that a computer works like a human and can detect urgency.

It can’t.

There’s a timer connected to that light (that they NOW put up on the display, btw) and that light will change colors when it’s good and ready. In other words, when the timer tells it too. Not by how many times you press the button.

Can I ask you a question?

As you cross the street, does the time on display ever go from 14 right to 3, because the person waiting at the opposite light tapped their button 22 times?

No it has not!

Or, let me ask you this.

Have you ever found yourself at an online web page faster because you clicked the mouse 27 consecutive times?

Didn’t think so.

So knock off the excessive tapping. It’s annoying. Thanks.

Signed, Me.

The truth is he’s not alone. I shouldn’t be so hard on him. We’ve all done it.

When you walk in a room and flip the light switch, what do you do if the light doesn’t come on?

up down up down up down up down up down

As if the the switch just needed a minute to think about what you wanted.

No, it’s still not coming on. If it worked, it would have worked the first time. Change the bulb dude.

And our repetitive nature isn’t just in our actions. It’s also in our words.

Like those people that have to use the same word several times in a sentence as an adjective.

“The water there is cool but they don’t plug in their cooler. I prefer it plugged in because then the water is cold cold cold cold”.

That just sound ridiculous. What’s wrong with us as a whole if we’d rather accidentally stutter instead of using descriptive words like Very, More, Near Freezing, etc?

Stop confusing repetitive for productive. And direct repetition should never be used as a word modifier.

Thank you very much.

Signed, Me

4 thoughts on “Human Repetitive Nature

  1. Actually there was a story on Yahoo in New York and some parts of the LA, the close door button in elevators and the crosswalk buttons have been deactivated.

    They are placebos

    • Hey my friend, long time no see. Not sure if you were serious about the story or not. If so, then why is it that in LA if you don’t press the button it doesn’t turn green? If you were just joking, then this is all an illusion. Lol

  2. I hate when people do that with elevators!! It drives me batty!! Nice to kno I’m not alone bro

Leave a Reply

